Gov Obiano Submits 19 Commissioner Nominees To State Assembly - Welcome to Uju Ayalogu's Blog

Breaking News

Post Top Ad

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

Gov Obiano Submits 19 Commissioner Nominees To State Assembly

Gov Obiano Submits 19 Commissioner Nominees To State Assembly

Anambra State governor, Willie Obiano

Anambra State governor, Willie Obiano yesterday submitted a list of 19 nominees to the state House of Assembly for screening and approval for appointment as members of his new cabinet.

Governor Obiano was last weekend sworn in along with his deputy, Dr. Nkem Okeke by the state Chief Judge, Justice Peter Umeadi at the Dr. Alex Ekwueme Square, Awka, to commence his second tenure as governor of the state.

He had within 24 hours after his inauguration appointed four principal officers to kick-start his new government.

READ ALSO :  Electoral Bill: Malami in Court, Says N’Assembly’s Intimidation of Judiciary Unfortunate

The appointees were; Professor Solo Chukwulobelu ( secretary to the state government); Mr. Primes Odili ( chief of staff); Mr. Willie Nwokoye ( principal secretary to the governor) and Mr. James Eze ( chief press secretary to the governor). These four appointees had already been sworn in.

Names of the new nominees submitted to the state Assembly and their respective local government areas include, Mr. Mark Okoye, former Commissioner of Budgeting, Economic Planning and Development Partners, and Ndidi Mezue, both from Dunukofia local government area of the state.

Others are Uju Nwogu, Anaocha; Ifeatu Onejeme, Awka South; Engr. Maxwell Ifejiofor, Anambra East; Joe Akabuike, Orumba North; Nnamdi Onukwube, Onitsha North; and Obi Nwankwo, Awka South.

Others are former Commissioner for Education, Professor Kate Omenugha (Idemili South), Mrs Obiekezie Theresa Nkechi (Njikoka), Arc. Michael Okonkwo (Orumba South), Chief Afam Mbanaefo (Nnewi North), Mr. Christian Madubuko (Ayamelum), Mr. Uche Okafor (Oyi), and Mr. Bonaventure Onyemali (Anambra West).

The rest nominees are C.Don Adinuba (Ihiala), Chief Greg Obi (Nnewi South), Mr. Sally Mbanaefo (Onitsha South) and Mr. Emeka Ezenwanne (Aguata).

Meanwhile, the name of the immediate past commissioner of Information and Communication Strategy, Ogbuefi Tony Nnacheta was conspicuously missing, while no nominees from some local government areas, including Awka North, Ogbaru , Idemili North, and Ekwusigo made the list.

After reading list of the nominees to members of the state Assembly during plenary the Speaker, Hon. Rita Maduagwu referred the list to the House Screening Committee headed by Deputy Speaker, Hartford Oseke for scrutiny and urged the committee to conclude the screening within two days so that the successful nominees could be confirmed to enable the governor speed up governance.

Responding, the Screening Committee chairman, Hon. Hartford Oseke assured that the list would be ready as directed by the speaker.

READ ALSO :  AGF Backtracks, Asks Ojukwu to Step Down as Executive Secretary of NHRC

Are you an artiste? Do you want your music to go viral and reach a large number of audience? Promote your music and Submit your story  on by clicking here. For Advert Inquiries Tel/+44(0)7590363984 Subscribe to News!

For More:  Visit Us at Uju Ayalogu's Blog

Share This

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad