The Constitutional Mandate Of The DSS - Welcome to Uju Ayalogu's Blog

Breaking News

Post Top Ad

Tuesday, 7 August 2018

The Constitutional Mandate Of The DSS

The Constitutional Mandate Of The DSS

The State Security Service (SSS) also known as the Department of State Services (DSS) was established under decree 19 of 1986 by Military President Ibraheem Badamasi Babangida after he disbanded the Nigerian Security Organisation (NSO) on June 5, 1986.

However, the mandate of the SSS is to protect and defend the Federal Republic of Nigeria against domestic threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of Nigeria, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to both federal and state law-enforcement organs.

READ ALSO :    BREAKING: Obasanjo’s party splits as ‘New ADC’ emerges

The SSS is also charged with the protection of the President, Vice President, Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives, State Governors, their immediate families, other high ranking government officials, past presidents and their spouses, certain candidates for the offices of President and Vice President, and visiting foreign heads of state and government.

The SSS has constantly adapted to various roles necessitated by evolving security threats in Nigeria including counter-terrorism and counter-insurgency.

However, an insider source said the agency maintains a fleet of bullet proof limousines, sport utility vehicles (SUVs) that are used to convey the President, Vice president and visiting dignitaries. Undergo shooting marksmanship, driving, goes undercover, maintains body guard operation, among many other confidential operations.

READ ALSO :    Alleged N805m Fraud: Judge Hands Off Senator Nwaoboshi Trial

Meanwhile, the past heads of NSO/SSS are Colonel Abdullahi Mohammed, DG NSO from October 1976 to October 1979, Alhaji Umaru Shinkafi, DG, NSO from October 1979 to November 1983, Ambassador Mohammed Lawal Rafindadi, DG NSO from January 1984 to August 1985, Alhaji Ismaila Gwarzo, DG SSS, from 1986 to September 1990, Chief Albert Horsfall, DG SSS from September 1990 to October 1992, Chief Peter Nwaoduah, DG SSS from October 1992 to 1998, Colonel Kayode Are rtd, DG SSS from May 1999 to August 2007, Afakriya Gadzama, DG SSS from August 2007 to September 2010, Ita Ekpeyong DG, SSS from September 2010 to July 2015 and Lawal Musa Daura, DG SSS from July 2015 to August 7, 2018.

Are you an artiste? Do you want your music to go viral and reacha large number of audience? Promote your music and Submit your story on by clicking here. For Advert Inquiries Tel/+44(0)7590363984 Subscribe to

For More:  Visit Us at Uju Ayalogu's Blog

Share This

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad